Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Open Street Map – Design for Digital Media Environments 06/02/2015

Leave a comment

My new task set was to make a contribution to a community based User Generated Content (UGC) platform. This could be everything from adding a photo or video to Wikimeda, adding some detail to open street map on our Bournemouth campus or to add a recipe to Wikibooks.

I chose to add something from Bournemouth University to open street maps. Open Street Maps is a collaborative project to create a free editable map of the world. It emphasises locals adding their own knowledge to the map that wasn’t on there before.

Bournemouth University

Bournemouth University

Above you can see Bournemouth University situated on Open street maps.

Below, I have added the coffee shop Starbucks to the map. This is from my own knowledge as I know there is a Starbucks coffee shop on campus.

Adding Starbucks

Adding Starbucks

new

You can see from the above image that I have now added a ‘note’ to Open street maps.

I found this task interesting to complete. I am a lover for travelling and map reading, I can get so stuck into a map so this task was perfect for me. I liked that anyone has the ability to add whatever they want or correct something. It creates freedom for users all over the world. I look forward to adding in more notes as I discover the world of Open Street Maps.

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

