Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Design Analysis – A2 Poster

Leave a comment

Now that I have the basic layout of my poster, I needed to trace ten flags that represent each country. I have explained the process before in my most recent post here. Luckily to my advantage, a lot of the flags contained only stripes and block colours. However there were a few which I found difficult to trace:

Mexico’s flag looks like this:

Mexico's Flag

Mexico’s Flag

It has the eagle in the middle, eating a snake with leaves at the bottom. My first reaction to this flag was that I wasn’t going to be able to trace this at all, I even thought about changing my poster idea all together(!). I just had no hope that I was ever going to be able to trace something recognisable.

I put my bezier tool to the test and after many adjustments using the nodes tool to selectively smooth nodes out, I ended up with something like this:

Traced flag

Traced flag

It’s very amateur and child-like to say the least but I didn’t feel like I could do much more without it looking worse. I was satisfied I had done the basic outline and shape of the eagle and snake but if I had more time I would have definitely attempted the leaves around the bottom.

The rest of the 9 flags I found somewhat okay to trace, with the help of the zoom in button I completed this task quite quickly.

After tracing all 10 flags, I placed them at each point of the dial pad, I then duplicated each image to create a key. The key will help audiences identify which flag is which country. You can see half of the key here:

Half of the key

Half of the key

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

