Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Development and Realisation – Design Analysis 09/12/2014

Leave a comment

Today is the last seminar to focus on our A2 posters. I drew some sketches and showed them to my lecturer who gave me some ideas on the graphic. I wanted to represent the top fattest countries by using a weighing scale as it’s easy to read and fits the theme. As the West side of the world read from left to right and top to bottom; I had to incorporate this in my work so that the whole world can read my infographic. I decided to use the image of scales because everyone knows how to read scales, knowing that the more the needle goes around; the larger something is.

I also wanted to add in a tape measure which gives the illusion of the scales being measured, here is an example:

I really like the dial on the above picture, it gave me the idea to have ten different points and to have the countries represented in that way. Like this image:

Thinking about how I can visually represent this more, I had an idea to make the font increasingly bigger as the dial went around. I have taken into consideration the audience of my final poster and I have aimed this more at adults both male and female as this affects everyone. I also thought where my infographic could be published. As this is about health I had an idea of using it for an NHS advert, although Great Britain aren’t in the top ten, it can still be used as a warning. I also thought my infographic could be used in newspapers as they have an older audience, 20+ which fits my target audience.

I haven’t thought about the colours I will use yet but I am thinking of using basic block colours, keeping the measuring tape yellow so it is recognisable. I thought of having each countries flag on the measuring tape at each marker point to show the range of the fattest countries.

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

