Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Development and Realisation – Design Analysis 02/12/2014

Leave a comment

Although I said in my previous post, I would research the design of this assignment; I have decided to research more on the question and the information first. I have decided that I didn’t want to involve all of the countries, just the top ten. So here is my research on the top ten fattest countries in 2014:

  • 10. Trinidad and Tobago: 30% of the population are obese 
  •  9. Venezuela: 30.8% of the population are obese 
  • 8.  United States: 31.8% of the population are obese
  • 7.  Mexico: 32.8% of the population are obese
  • 6.  South Africa: 33.5% of the population are obese
  • 5.  United Arab Emirates: 33.7% of the population are obese
  • 4.  Jordan: 34.3% of the population are obese
  • 3.  Egypt: 34.6% of the population are obese
  • 2.  Saudi Arabia: 35.2% of the population are obese
  • 1.  Kuwait: 42.8% of the population are obese

These statistics are from http://www.therichest.com/ which was published in 2014.
I found it interesting that Kuwait had such an increase compared to its neighbouring fattest country; Saudi Arabia.

So now I have the information, I wanted to think about how I would show this in an infographic without using a lot of text. The image of weighing scales immediately came to mind, I could have Kuwait at one end and Trinidad and Tobago at the other.
My other idea was to have an image of old fashioned scales and to have the top 5 fattest countries at one end, so the scales drop down and have the last 5 countries on the other side so it’s visually ‘lighter’.
I also liked the idea of having the scales balanced so show a balanced lifestyle but seeing as this is all about the fattest countries; I wanted to stick to my original plans of showing a clear definition between the percentages.

Here are some examples of infographics using scales to visualise the information:

Out of Inkscape and Adobe Illustrator, I have decided to use Inkscape to design my A2 poster because I found it was a lot more user friendly than AI and it was also free which meant I could download it and use it at home.
You can download Inkscape in my previous post here.

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

