Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Inkscape Workshop – Tracing 27/11/2014

Leave a comment

In today’s workshop we used Inkscape and were taught how to trace images. We took a drawing of a tiger from Google Images and placed it into Inkscape. Focusing on the black parts, we used the Bezier tool to draw outlines of the stripes on the tigers head. This was easy to do as it didn’t have to be neat because you can change the anchor points later on using the Nodes tool to curve the lines and edges.

Below is the image I started with:

This is what it looked like after I had outlines a few of the stripes:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.19.29

After I had done the eye, I went on to the nose and mouth area:
(I changed the colour so it was different to the yellow)

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.33.15

This is what the image looked like when I took the background image off. It’s hard to see the yellow against the white background but this was just a tester:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.33.05

 

I then took the Freehand tool and roughly traced the fur parts of the image. This was fun to do because it made it your own work:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.45.31

 

I filled in the stripes black because I wanted to keep basic colours. I also filled in the eye a light grey colour:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.45.19

 

The final step was to duplicate the freehand parts and enhance the blur on them to it gave off a shadow effect. I then changed the gradient of the eye so it faded out towards the nose. Finally, I blurred the mouth because I didn’t look how sharp it looked:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 15.48.47

 

I will be finishing off this image and posting it on here soon.

 

 

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

