Digitals of an Undergraduate

Chloe, 19 from Hertfordshire, UK. First year Digital Media Design student at Bournemouth University

Inkscape Workshop 20/11/2014

Leave a comment

In the second half of Thursdays workshop we used Inkscape. It reminded me of Microsoft Paint which to my surprise is still around(!). The layout was extremely basic and lacked creativity. Saying this; it was incredibly easy to use although the apple shortcuts didn’t work on this programme because it isn’t Adobe. This was actually okay with me because I have never liked using apple computer software as I’m so used to windows.

My lecturer showed us how to make a doll like figure using simple shapes and tools provided. We created curves in the lines and made each eyelash individually. I found it quite time consuming but having looked at other examples from Google Images, the more complex images looked quite fun and easy to produce.  We had homework set to create our own doll from using either Inkscape or Adobe Illustrator.

Inkscape

Inkscape

I’m still yet to decide which programme I preferred working with as they were both rather simple and easy to pick up on. My next post on this topic will be the homework set. Which programme do you prefer to use and why?

Author: Chloe Rose Hutchings

Chloe, 20 from Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Digital Media Design student studying at Bournemouth University.

Leave a Reply

